¡More than a Market!

Himg_4047i Y’all! I’m going to take you guys to another Mexican Market with me. This one is La Tienda in Prairieville, La. This store was a bit bigger than the last one I visited and offered a lot of different things. They had a variety of traditional Mexican candies, sodas, and an assortment of different snacks. Then further in the store, they had more of grocery items. Some of them were typical things that you would see at an American grocery store, but they also had some very interesting things I have never seen before. Some of the different things I saw was pickled date palm and Pacaya palm in brine. (Pacaya palm is a species of palm tree) This is one of the many reasons I love going to Mexican markets, you can find new things you can’t find anywhere else.

img_4048One thing that stood out to me in both of the Mexican markets is the amount of people making phone calls. I was with my friend who is Mexican when I went to both stores and I asked her why so many people were calling. She told me about how expensive it is to make international calls and when they are in the store they can call their loved ones back home for free. I found this shocking because I was ignorant on this particular struggle many people right in my town face. So, yes, these markets are great for getting new exotic foods, but they also serve a greater purpose.

 

sugar-skull

 

Leave a Reply

