¡Going to the Market!

Hi Y’all! This img_4043week I want to talk about a few of the Mexican markets or grocery stores that I have visited. The first one I want to tell you guys about is El Guero Market. It is in Prairieville, La. This is a pretty small grocery store, but they had a lot to offer.

The store had a variety of traditional, fresh Hispanic foods such as goat cheese, flan, and tres leches. There was also a lot of items that you would see at an American grocery store such as flour, vegetable oil, and hot chocolate, but it was a bit different. All these typical items packages were in written in Spanish.

These stores were not meant for people like me, a southern, white girl, to shop at. When we went to the store they were very busy and just about everyone in there except me and my friend was Hispanic. We did get a few funny looks, but luckily my friend knew one of the employees there. We wound up getting a delicious watermelon popsicle and a piece of tres leches (my absolute favorite dessert).

img_4044Overall, my experience at this grocery store was a good one and I definitely want to go back. I’d like to get some authentic Hispanic food for a Mexican dinner one night. If you see a Mexican market near your home I encourage you to go in and experience something a little different, you might find some great, new food right in your own neighborhood.

 

 

sugar-skull

Leave a Reply

